Wildlife on Your Doorstep – Recognizing Local Conservation

One innovation at our local AGM was the announcement of the local WOYD awards. Each local group has sort nominations for people, groups, churchyards and schools that have contributed significantly to promoting wildlife and nature conservation. The winners were announced at the Local Group AGM by Va;lerie Holt (NWT Trustee) and presented with a framed certificate.

NWT and SNG are delighted to announce the winners for Rushcliffe are

Individual – Bill Bacon for his outstanding work with Bingham Linear Park/Butterfly Conservation and Grizzeled Skipper Project,

Group – Friends of Sharphill Wood for all thier work to protect and maintain the wood,

School – Edwalton School for their environmental schooling in Meadow Covert Wood.

So congratulations and the winner in each category will then go forward for an overal county award in each of the categories.

But it is also a great pleasure to say that of all the WOYD nominations recieved across the county, some 20% were from Rushcliffe. This recognises the strong, vibrant anture conservation community we have localy. It is also worth saying that every nomination represents someone saying well done we think you are doing a grand job, so a big round of applause for the other nominations, who are

Individual – Jenny Craig (Bingham Linear Park, John Elwell (Sharphill Wood), Gordon Dyne (Wilwell and SNG), Vera Oxby, Phil Miller (Sharphill Wood), Laura Mayhew-Manchon (Rushcliffe WATCH), Geoff East, Derek Rudge (Wilford Claypits), Eliane Young

Group – Gotham Nature Trust, Friends of the Hook, Stonepit Wood (west Bridgford Scouts), South Notts Bird Ringers, Friends of Rushcliffe Country Park



South Notts Local Group AGM

Another year another AGM, which went very well apart from having to move to another building because of blocked drains ! This years comittee is unchanged apart from Geoff Fyles standing down (thanks for your efforts over the years Geoff) and will consist of Gordon Dyne (Chair), Valerie Holt (Vice Chair), Jacquie Glen (Secretary), Neil Pinder (Treasurer), Graham Leigh-Browne, Margie Richards, Neil Glen, Judith Booth, Cath Lockart and Keely Martin. As pour constitution allows for a committe of up to ten we still have slots available for two other people and I would be very interested in hearing from anyone who might be interested in joining us (we are allowed to co-opt). If you think it might be for you contact me on gordon.dyne@gmail.com OR 0115 8784842 to talk about it. Fresh minds are allways good.

For general information I have posted the Chairs and Treasurers Report + minutes of the last years AGM (and this years once available) on the web site. follow this link for

2013/14 AGM Report AGM Mins 2014

2014/15 Annual Report 2015 LG Report

2014/15 Income and Expenditure IncExp 2014-15